T-Minus 4 Weeks … or So

If you’re ever going to pull out a trick play … it’s now. Rift is slated to launch on March 1, 2011 here in North America and on March 4 in Europe. I’m not here to say Rift will be good or bad but it’s the next big lamprey that will be sucking players away from WAR.

To date it’s no secret that the natives are restless, myself included. A communications glut and a recent significant departure have left the doom slightly ahead of the gloom in the wake of Patch 1.4’s flop.¬†And why shouldn’t players feel that way? We need to be coddled, consoled, and told every single little plan that is hatched. The secret squirrel, hush-hush stuff is old — TOO OLD — and we wants us some firm plans so we can plan out how we intends to plan to play.

That’s where Mykiel comes in. He’s definitely different and has a unique perspective on things. Mykiel loves him some PvP and he simply enjoys playing. He wants to get out there and fight which will lead to him having fun. Meeting him last August at Games Day Baltimore it was refreshing to hear his thoughts on WAR from a rather interesting angle. Some say he’s too rosey but I say he’s realistic. But that’s me.

Mykiel was at Mythic recently and writes about it here. The astute will recall that it was Mykiel who started the whole Red Plague rumoring last year in April. That led to other bloggers chiming in and a flurry of speculation, theorycrafting, and excitement that led up to the RvR Packs. Okay … so things haven’t been that awesome since those packs launched but the build up to them was fun. Right?

Mykiel eludes to what he heard. And because he’s under an NDA he can’t mention specifics. Fair enough. He says that he was really surprised by what he heard. He also says to watch the forums over the next few weeks. Quote: “Good stuff is coming.” End Quote.

Okay, Mythic … it’s now or never. With some thinking F2P is on its way, others saying that the expected exodus to Rift will surely crush this game, what ace is up your sleeve? Can you pull off some of this kind of amazing shit? That’s what it’s going to take. You’ve got until Rift launches and then … perhaps only the crickets will be listening.

9 Responses to “T-Minus 4 Weeks … or So”

  1. I tried out RIFT during the last beta event and was left feeling like I played wow. The PVE was pretty good, the RIFT system is interesting, but the PVP…Yeah…That needs a lot of work. Maybe it’ll get better but I’m not holding my breath. Anyhow I’ll be back to warhammer once I get my tax return :)

    • Hope to see you then … I’ve been MIA but should be stopping back soon.

      • FYI we have been merged onto gorfang with volkmar. Population is really good, hundreds on both sides, really frequent sc pops, and so far it seems almost even numbers wise with order having perhaps about 20 to 30% more than destro. Hard to say for sure of course, and it varies. Anyhow, tons of fun to be had! COME BACK KRO! And bring that good for nothing cousin with you!

  2. Yeah, to be honest the whole guild is taking a serious look at Rift, if WAR doesn’t get up and moving, Rift could easily pull us all away. Here’s hoping for those “good things.”

    I’ve heard mixed things about the PVP, but with WAR semi-crashing around us… it’s sadly becoming a question of “when do we jump ship?”

    • For now, the core of my guild is staying. We’ll be moving over to Gorfang on the 9th.

      I’ve heard that Rift is very WoWlike (isn’t almost every new MMO?) and it does have PvP … mainly that stems from “rifts” that act like cross-realm PQs. I’m sure they are cool but will they be so in 3 months? Other than that I’ve heard Rift has “battlegrounds” or “scenarios” … so there you go.

      • I can tell you from Betas that it is Wow-ish up through level 16, though higher ranked guildies promise good things after 20.

        It does have Warfronts (SCs), which is great, and yes, Rifts do act like cross-realm PQs (kinda cool), though IMO they happen a bit too often, that could be because they are linked to player pop though…

        Can’t wait to see you guys again!
        The native Gorfang pop wasn’t quite as.. ummm.. competitive as IR, so while it was nice to be Gods for a while, we’re seeing more and more competition every day, and we’ll be happy to have everyone join us for some good knock-down, drag-out stuff!

  3. I just can’t do it anymore. I’ve been in since launch but this last wave of customer-uncaring and the childish way they hang the ‘good things are coming’ carrot over our heads is too much. I’ve finally broken my rant-free blog policy on this one, and I’ve been unsubbed since January! Maybe Mythic is trolling me…….. ;)

    As for RIFT I’m in the Alpha so I can’t comment, no matter how much I’d like to….. what I will say is that they do seem awfully keen to address player issues and implement suggestions. Unlike EA who seem intent on delivering bad customer service by the bucketful.

  4. *poke… poke* You dead man?

    I wish to see your fiery face in game! Hope you’re not too crazy busy!

    • I transfered my toons over to Gorfang late last week. I just haven’t had the chance to login and test the new waters. I’ve gotten sucked into an online NCAA Football 2011 dynasty. I should be logging in soon as I need to rejoin my old guild which moved over as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

